Strawberry Shortcake

My friends and I about to devour this strawberry shortcake! From left to right: Avi, Me, and Anna ūüôā

Since I hold the house record for number of slices of strawberry shortcake eaten in one sitting (6), I decided to make this my first dessert post on little maddie’s. This cake is usually what I have for my birthday and I absolutely love it! ¬†It is a rustic two layer cake that is very simple – almost semi-homemade. ¬†There is a layer of strawberries mixed with sugar – which really bring out the juices in the strawberries – and homemade whipped cream.

To make this cake a tad bit figure friendly, I substituted plain greek yogurt for sour cream in the whipped cream.  It has the same taste and texture for less carbs and no fat.  Greek yogurt is also very high in protein.  My mom discovered this trick about a year ago and we now use it on baked potatoes and any kind of potato or pasta salad.  Greek yogurt really is the perfect substitute for sour cream.

Another thing about the homemade whipped cream: while I was making this, my mom walked in and I told her what I did to make the whipped cream. ¬†She was astonished that I put all of the ingredients into the bowl without beating the heavy whipping cream to stiff peaks first. ¬†Also, it is apparently unorthodox to use regular cane sugar as opposed to confectioner’s sugar when making whipped cream. ¬†I continued to beat the mixture just to see what happened, and much to our surprise, it turned out great! ¬†I guess it’s new school vs. old school cooking…but do whatever you’re comfortable with!

Also, what makes this strawberry shortcake semi-homemade is that I use Bisquick for the shortcake layers. ¬†The recipe is right on the side of the box and it is very delicious and easy. ¬†Just make sure you don’t over-work the dough ūüôā

Strawberry Shortcake:

2 cups strawberries diced

3 tablespoons sugar

1 pint heavy whipping cream

1/3 cup plain greek yogurt

1/3 cup sugar

2 1/3 cups Original Bisquick mix

2/3 cup milk

3 tablespoons sugar

3 tablespoons butter, melted

2 tablespoons sugar

2 tablespoons cinnamon

1.  Mix strawberries and sugar together.  Set aside.

2. ¬†Stir Bisquick mix, milk, sugar, and butter until soft dough forms. ¬†Divide the dough into two equal pieces. ¬†Fit each piece of dough into round cake pans that have been greased and floured. ¬†Sprinkle the tops of the cakes with cinnamon sugar mixture. ¬†Bake 10 minutes or until golden brown in a 425¬į oven.

3.  In a large bowl, beat the heavy whipping cream, greek yogurt, and sugar until stiff peaks form.  Refrigerate before use.

4.  After cakes have cooled, poke a few holes so that the strawberry juice drips down into the cake.  Then spread half of the strawberry mixture onto the first layer, followed by the whipped cream.  Repeat with the second layer.  Garnish with mint leaves or a few strawberry slices.

YUM!!!

love, maddie

Leave a Reply

