Chocolate Pound Cake

Oh my, the amount of cookbooks I have accumulated this Birthday/Christmas season. Five is the number of new cookbooks that I have counted. And I don’t want to part from a single one of them. Kevin has seen how much I enjoy baking, so he probably thought it would be a good idea to get me a baking cookbook for Christmas. Boy was he right. I opened up Williams-Sonoma Baking and was ecstatic (along with a deliciously Christmas-y smelling Yankee Candle)! I decided that the first recipe I made out of the cookbook should probably be something with chocolate. Kevin’s dessert philosophy: “if it’s not chocolate…why eat it?” So I stumbled across this Chocolate Pound Cake recipe and decided to make it as a gift for him and his momma.

This recipe called for double chocolate. Cocoa powder and semisweet chocolate that had been melted. I knew I was off to a good start…

Side note: I’m still getting used to my new camera and trying to figure out what angle, shooting mode and lighting works best. Comment on this post and choose which of the following shots you like best!

1.2.3.

Also, since this recipe called for vanilla extract, you better believe I pulled out my homemade bottle, and man, does it smell good! This batter was very delicious. I may have intentionally left a good amount of batter in the mixing bowl for snacking…the loaf pan looks full anyway, right?

Chocolate Pound Cake (from Williams-Sonoma Baking)

Makes 1 loaf, serves 6-8

Ingredients:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour

1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 oz. semisweet chocolate

2 sticks unsalted, room temperature butter

2 cups brown sugar (I always use dark brown sugar because it has more molasses flavor!)

3 eggs

1 teaspoon vanilla extract

1 cup plain greek yogurt (or sour cream, whatever you have on hand)

Directions:

Preheat the oven to 350°. Grease a 9-by-5-inch loaf pan. Combine flour, cocoa powder, and salt. Set aside. Place the chocolate in the top of a double boiler. Make sure the simmering water is not touching the bottom of the heatproof bowl that contains the chocolate. Melt until smooth.

In the bowl of a standing mixer fitted with the paddle attachment, beat the butter and brown sugar until light and fluffy. Add in the eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Add the vanilla and melted chocolate, mix well. Using a rubber spatula, fold the flour mixture into the creamed butter and sugar in 3 batches, alternating with the greek yogurt. Be sure to begin and end with the flour mixture. Pour and scrape the batter into the prepared pan.

Bake until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean, a little over 1 hour. Be sure to check at exactly 1 hour! You don’t want dry pound cake! Serve with whipped cream, ice cream, berries, or plain.

Enjoy!

love, maddie

One thought on “Chocolate Pound Cake

Leave a Reply

