Baked Fontina

Among the myriad cookbooks I received this Christmas, Ina Garten’s How Easy Is That? was one of my favorite. She has so many simple recipes that use few ingredients (cost effective for a college student) and basic techniques. Ina is my girl. About 90% of the recipes in the cookbook are “marked” to make ASAP, and this is the first one I’ve tried. Lots of barefoot recipes ahead.

This baked fontina has garlic, thyme, and rosemary! Sooo delicious. It gets all bubbly and melty. Omg. If you’re not doing anything right now, go to the store and buy fontina. You won’t be sorry.

 

Did I mention I love garlic? The recipe called for 6 cloves. I used 12.
This recipe couldn’t be easier. My roommate, Anna, picked me up from class and we went to the grocery store to get a few quick things. Fontina cheese, garlic, thyme, and rosemary. As soon as we got home, I just got together the ingredients, put them in a cast-iron pan, and put them under the broiler. Ready in about 5 minutes! Baked fontina is great to serve for lunch with a salad or as an appetizer before dinner. It will disappear, I promise.
Baked Fontina: (adapted from Ina Garten)
  • 1 lb fontina cheese, cut into 1-inch pieces
  • 1/4 cup EVOO
  • 12 garlic cloves, sliced
  • 1 tablespoon thyme, minced
  • 2 teaspoons rosemary, minced
  • S & P to taste
Preheat broiler. Place fontina cheese in cast-iron pan. Drizzle EVOO over cheese. Sprinkle garlic, thyme, and rosemary over cheese. Season with S & P. Put cast-iron pan under the broiler for about 5 minutes. Remove from broiler when cheese is melted and bubbly! Serve with a crusty bread like a french baguette and apples.
Enjoy!
love, maddie
Leave a Reply

