Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing

I have a confession to make…I am obsessed with peanut butter. PB&Js, peanut butter and chocolate (check out this), Reese’s Cups and/or Puffs, apples and peanut butter, peanut butter from a spoon. I think you get the point.

So I was watching Food Network, just like any other day, and Ina was on. The Barefoot Contessa. She always makes everything look so effortless. Anyway, that day she was making chocolate cupcakes with peanut butter icing. I immediately was on the edge of the couch, staring at the television, knowing that I had to have one of those cupcakes as soon as possible.

I made them that night.

One of my best friends and roommate, Anna, and I made them at her house. As soon as the cupcakes came out of the oven, I put a big dollop of peanut butter icing on one and inhaled it. I had an epiphany. These were (and are) my favorite cupcakes that I have ever had. And I’ve made quite a few cupcakes in my lifetime 🙂

This recipe is just like all other cake recipes. Cream butter and sugar. Wet ingredients. Dry ingredients.

I bought Vanilla Chobani Greek Yogurt at the grocery store about a week before I made these babies, so I substituted it for sour cream. I was expecting to use it in smoothies and eat it with granola, but hey, I like cupcakes, too. Greek yogurt is better for you and the vanilla adds extra flavor! I also used about 1/2 tablespoon more coffee than the recipe called for, just because I think coffee makes chocolate taste more chocolatey. And both of my roommates are big coffee drinkers, so why not?

The batter comes out like this…

And the cupcakes come out like this…

The batter is light as air. And as you can imagine, the cupcakes are moist and delicious. I topped them with a creamy peanut butter icing. I was astounded by the fact that this pb icing had such a better taste and consistency than its Martha Stewart counterpart. You’d think Martha Stewart’s Cupcakes cookbook would have the best of the best in terms of recipes, but I tried her peanut butter frosting, and let me tell you…Barefoot won. This icing recipe is so very simple to put together and tastes like heaven (if you like peanut butter). Give it a shot!

Cream together butter, peanut butter, and confectioner’s sugar. Add heavy cream. Mix until creamy. So much creaminess. It’s life changing.

Chocolate Cupcakes: (adapted from Ina Garten)

  • 1 1/2 sticks butter, room temperature
  • 2/3 cup sugar
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1/2 cup greek yogurt (either plain or vanilla flavored, or you can use sour cream)
  • 2 1/2 tablespoons prepared coffee
  • 1 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 cup cocoa powder
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 350°. Line cupcake pans with paper liners. Cream butter and 2 sugars until light and fluffy. Add the eggs one at a time. Mix well. Add vanilla. In another bowl, mix together buttermilk, greek yogurt, and coffee. In another bowl, mix together flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, and salt. On a low speed, add the wet ingredients and dry ingredients alternating in 3 batches. Beginning with the wet ingredients and ending with the dry ingredients. Mix until blended (do not over-mix). Divide batter among cupcake tins. Bake for 20 minutes.

Peanut Butter Icing: (adapted from Ina Garten)

  • 1 cup confectioner’s sugar
  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 5 tablespoons butter, room temperature
  • 3/4 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/3 cup heavy cream

Place confectioner’s sugar, peanut butter, butter, vanilla, and salt in a mixing bowl and beat on high until light and fluffy. Pour in heavy cream. Beat again until light and fluffy. Ice cupcakes once they have completely cooled.

You can top these cupcakes with chopped Reese’s Cups, peanuts, or anything you like!

Enjoy!

love, maddie

2 thoughts on “Chocolate Cupcakes with Peanut Butter Icing

  1. Hey, Maddie! Thanks so much for subbing Vanilla CHO for sour cream in this recipe. Sure does boost the nutrition stats, without losing any of the flavor! Plus, anything topped with peanut butter can’t be bad, right?! Please do email me if ya ever need a fresh supply of Chobani to continue your baking adventures!

Leave a Reply

