Homemade French Onion Dip

I had 2 exams today, and all I could think about yesterday (when I should have been studying) was how bad I wanted to add a new post on here. Hopefully this procrastination and lack of focus does not translate into a bad grade. We can only hope.

Super Bowl Sunday was spent cooking and baking from 1 pm until our guests arrived…our 4 guests we practically forced to come to our Super Bowl party so that we could say we had a Super Bowl “party.” We thanked them for coming to our small get-together by making cheese dip with black eyed peas and Hoppin’ John, homemade french onion dip, vegetarian chili (you know Chelsea), pizza (thanks to West End – the #1 dining hall in the country – at least in my heart), and dulce de leche brownies (you have to look out for this recipe, coming soon). They were glad they came, at least I hope so.

None of us particularly liked either team, so there was no trash talk going on.  Then Chelsea decided that she was going to root for the Giants and desperately wanted someone to be a Patriots fan so she could trash talk. Sadly, no one volunteered, so she just had to scream at the television whenever a big play happened. However, when the Giants scored a touchdown, she took out her party poppers (usually for New Year’s) and set one off, which was followed by a big boom. Maybe she was hoping that one of our neighbors liked New England and would try and rumble. I guess we’ll never know….

As for the french onion dip, this was so very simple and so much better than the french onion dip you can get in a packet! I made this dip, in addition to the cheese dip, because Kevin doesn’t like black eyed peas and loves french onion dip. And this seemed easy enough to put together so I gave it a shot. When I asked him how it tasted he replied with “it’s different.” For those of you who don’t have the pleasure of knowing my oh-so-adventurous boyfriend, he doesn’t particularly enjoy healthy food. He likes eating what he knows, and that’s Kraft Easy Mac, Fritos, and packaged french onion dip. I probably shouldn’t have told him I used my favorite ingredient, Chobani greek yogurt, in his beloved french onion dip.

The good and the bad. The healthy and the unhealthy. Don’t you love how Hellmann’s slogan is “Bring Out the Best?” I used all greek yogurt and maybe a tablespoon of mayonnaise just to get the rich, creamy flavor that people associate with french onion dip. Some recipes (and the ultimate french onion dip aficionado, Kevin) insist on using sour cream in your dip. I already had mayo in the fridge and knew I wanted to mostly use greek yogurt as the main ingredient, so why buy sour cream? Well I didn’t.

I love before and after pictures. I also love caramelized onions. The second picture has garlic in it, too. I put about 2 tablespoons of chopped garlic in right before the onions were done with the yummy caramelization process. If you put the garlic in right away with the onions, the garlic burns quickly and tastes bitter. Don’t want that!

Homemade French Onion Dip: (little maddie’s original)

  • 2 tablespoons butter (you can use EVOO, too!)
  • 1 sweet onion, sliced
  • 2 tablespoons garlic, chopped
  • 2 tablespoons Worcestershire sauce
  • 2 cups Chobani plain greek yogurt
  • 1 tablespoon mayonnaise
  • S & P to taste

Caramelize the onions on low until they are nicely browned. Right before the onions look done, put garlic in the pan to cook. Take off the heat and let cool. In a mixing bowl, combine greek yogurt, mayonnaise and Worcestershire sauce. Once onions and garlic have cooled, combine the onion mixture with the greek yogurt mixture. Season with S & P. You can serve this dip with celery, carrots, or any other vegetable, and you have to have potato chips!

Enjoy!

love, maddie 

3 thoughts on “Homemade French Onion Dip

  1. hahahaha that was funny 🙂

    congrats on your superbowl party! PATRIOTS FOR LIFE! (sorry I’m a little late chelsea, I would have tried to help you liven up the cheering)

  2. HAHAH You make me sound like the crazy roommate!! I was dying laughing reading this. But as far as the french onion – best FO dip I have ever had in my life!! ❤ you Mad & Great job, our 4 guest LOVED everything!!

Leave a Reply

