Lemon Yogurt Pancakes with Blueberry Syrup

Once again, I am choosing blogging over my studies. I have to read an entire book and write a paper on it by Friday (I am a very slow reader – bad news bears). The old Maddie would already have 2 pages of her paper done. The new Maddie is focused on cooking and doing new posts, and has only read 2 chapters in that stinkin’ novel. Oops…breakfast for dinner, anyone?

For dinner tonight, Anna and I made pancakes! But not just any pancakes. We made lemon yogurt pancakes and a blueberry syrup to drizzle on top. Yum. I have been thinking of ways to use my different flavors of Chobani greek yogurt that I received in the mail from one of their reps a few days ago, and pancakes were one of the first things that came to mind. The greek yogurt adds so much moistness and fluffiness to the pancakes (and nutrition, too)! And the blueberry syrup…blueberries + sugar + water + bit of maple syrup = heaven. Anna, Chelsea, and I were freaking out. I wanted to pour it on vanilla ice cream for a sweet treat and maybe even my cereal.

Anna and I were sitting down on the couch, and dinner time was right around the corner. I told her I wanted to make these pancakes for breakfast one morning this past weekend, but never got around to it. She looked at me and said, “do you have dinner plans?” And I said nope, and we got to cooking. We basically skipped dinner and went straight to dessert/breakfast (mostly dessert with these pancakes – and I have no problem admitting it).

I used Bisquick for this recipe because I had just the right amount left over to make pancakes, but you can use this same recipe with regular all-purpose flour. I was just taking a little short cut 🙂

I told Anna I would say on here that we used lemons in addition to the lemon Chobani greek yogurt. But I don’t think I can lie to you wonderful people. I didn’t have any lemons. I wanted one really bad to make the lemon flavor in these pancakes pop even more, but not bad enough to run to Food Lion. So…we had to do without. We still got a taste of lemon (even just with the one 6 oz. cup of lemon Chobani)! However, I do recommend, if you are planning on making these…go get a lemon. Adding the zest and juice to both the pancake batter and the blueberry syrup will (I believe) make a big difference. I put it in the recipe below, and next time I make this I will be sure to have lemons on hand! Let me know if y’all try it and it works beautifully!

The bubbles, the bubbles, the bubbles. Wait to flip until you see the bubbles. Hayles, these pictures go out to you. You’re probably the only one who will understand this Finding Nemo reference, and probably the only one that reads this 🙂 You should tell your madre in España, “Quiero panqueques.” And show her my blog.


Lemon Yogurt Pancakes with Blueberry Syrup: (little maddie’s orgingial)

  • 1 cup Bisquick
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1 tablespoon sugar
  • 1/2 cup milk
  • 1 egg
  • 1 (6 oz.) cup Chobani lemon greek yogurt
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1 lemon, zested and juiced (divided, place half in pancake batter and half in blueberry syrup)
  • 1/2 cup blueberries
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 2 tablespoons pure maple syrup

Combine Bisquick, baking powder, and sugar in a bowl. In another bowl, mix milk, egg, yogurt, lemon juice and zest, and vanilla until well combined. Pour the wet ingredients into the dry ingredients slowly and stir just until well combined. Set aside.

In a medium saucepan, add blueberries, sugar, water, lemon juice and zest, and maple syrup. Bring to a boil and reduce to a simmer. Stir occasionally.

Spray a pan over medium heat with nonstick spray or grease with butter. Pour about 1/4 cup of the pancake batter into the pan. Let bubbles form on the top of the pancake. Flip once bubbles form on top, and the pancake is golden brown. Top with blueberry syrup.

Enjoy!

love, maddie

3 thoughts on “Lemon Yogurt Pancakes with Blueberry Syrup

  1. HAHAHAHAHAHA literally when I read “the bubbles, the bubbles, the bubbles” I thought, ‘Haha, I’m just going to comment and say, MY BUBBLES,’ and then I got a shout out hollllaaa!!!! same mind. Deb & Flo. LOVE YOU! ps those look yummmy even though i dont like blueberries 🙂

  2. you are making me hungry maddie. looks like the perfect pancake–crispy edges even! love the pics especially with the yellow bowl and yellow yogurt. you are too creative.
    now good luck finishing up that book 😉

Leave a Reply

