Homemade Granola

I made this granola a couple weeks ago, but thanks to my insane workload, I’m just now getting around to doing this post. Alright enough of the pity party for Maddie. This granola is life-changing. Life-changing in the sense that you will never want to eat store-bought granola again. Yes, that good.

Not only do you control all of the ingredients you put in your granola (aka no high fructose corn syrup or chemicals), but you also have the privilege to try the granola as soon as it comes out of the oven. Have you ever had fresh baked, warm granola? No? Well, go make this asap.

When I was a little girl, I remember picking out the peanuts and the M&M’s out of   all different types of trail mix. I never cared for cashews – I thought they were shaped funny. I thought almonds were too healthy. I honestly think I used to be allergic to pistachios – they made my throat really scratchy. I also only ate pecans or walnuts if they were in a pie, muffin, or other baked good. But now, with my extremely sophisticated palate, I love every type of nut God ever made. The one downside to liking a variety of nuts…they cost an insane amount of money. For example, for this granola, I spent $10 on nuts alone (see picture below). Too bad we don’t have a Costco or Sam’s Club in Blacksburg. You know I love buying in bulk.

Yep, that’s $10 worth of nuts. Almonds, pepitas (pumpkin seeds), sunflower seeds, pecans, and walnuts.

The base to every granola recipe: rolled oats. I also added wheat germ to boost the nutrition. I don’t know what else to put wheat germ in, so now I just have a big jar of it in my pantry. I should probably look for some recipes to use that stuff up. To spice it up a little bit, I added cinnamon, ground ginger, nutmeg, and a tiny bit of curry powder to this granola. As soon as I tried the granola, I thought of apple pie and Indian food (separately). And I love both of those things. Good deal.

Most granola recipes have shredded coconut and some kind of dried fruit in it. I love dried cranberries and apricots, but you can add whatever you like! The “sauce” for this granola is a mixture of real maple syrup, agave syrup, vegetable oil, and vanilla. No brown sugar and no melted butter. I promise that you won’t miss it either. This granola has so much going on with all of the spices and dried fruits and the sweetness from the agave, you won’t event think about the butter.

Once you mix all of the ingredients together, throw it on a cookie sheet and bake for about 15 minutes! That’s all! No more store-bought granola for me.

Homemade Granola: (inspired by Gwyneth Paltrow) 

  • 2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 3/4 cup shredded coconut
  • 1/2 cup raw, slivered almonds
  • 1/4 cup pepitas
  • 1/4 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1/2 cup pecans, chopped
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon ginger
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup real maple syrup
  • 3 tablespoons agave syrup
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract

Preheat the oven to 350°. Stir together oats, wheat germ, nuts, shredded coconut, dried fruit, spices, and salt in a large bowl. Combine the maple syrup, agave, and vegetable oil, and vanilla in a small bowl and then mix with the dry ingredients. Spread the granola out on a nonstick cookie sheet. Bake for 15-20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Take it out of the oven and let it cool. Keep in an airtight container. Eat with your favorite flavor of Chobani greek yogurt or eat it like cereal with milk. It’s also just a great snack to take to school or work, or keep a stash of it in your car. Enjoy! 

love, maddie

6 thoughts on “Homemade Granola

  1. Looks and sounds delicious! Maybe McCormick will follow your blog and send some free spices like Chobanni’s did w/the yogurt! Have a great weekend Little One.

Leave a Reply

