Chocolate Chip Cookies

If you’re like me, you like soft and chewy cookies. None of that crisp nonsense. I want them almost half-baked (maybe because that’s my favorite Ben & Jerry’s ice cream). Who wants to bite into a cookie and feel like you’re chomping on a rock? Not me!

I made these for Kevin for Valentine’s Day – I know, this post is a little overdue. You’d think that for such a special day I should have made some elaborate baked good. Oh no. Kevin is simple. From previous posts you should have learned that he likes Kraft mac & cheese and Fritos dipped in cream cheese. No coq au vin for Kev. He also doesn’t believe in desserts unless it is chocolate. And out of all of the chocolate desserts in the world, his favorite is a plain old chocolate chip cookie. You can see how I arrived to the conclusion of making these cookies for him. Gotta give him his favorite.

This recipe is so simple and I promise you can really taste the difference between Pillsbury and homemade chocolate chip cookies. Even though the big tub of Pillsbury chocolate chip cookie dough from Costco was a staple in the Houck household. Don’t worry, Momma, all my friends were jealous that their moms didn’t buy it for them.

Like most baked goods, you start with creaming butter and sugar. You know we’re off to a great start.

This recipe made about 40 cookies. I put 36 of them in a little cake box that I got for free from Carol Lee Donuts here in Blacksburg. Surprisingly, none of them went to waste. I’m sure Kevin’s roommates helped him eat them, even though he could’ve put them away all by himself no problem – not gaining a pound of course.

Chocolate Chip Cookies: (from Martha Stewart’s Cookies)

  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1/2 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 cup packed light-brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 eggs
  • 2 cups (about 12 ounces) semisweet or milk chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350°. In a small bowl, whisk together the flour and baking soda; set aside. Combine the butter with both sugars in a large bowl or a stand mixer and beat on medium speed until light and fluffy. Reduce speed to low; add the salt, vanilla, and eggs. Beat until well mixed, about 1 minute. Add flour mixture; mix until just combined. Stir in the chocolate chips. Drop tablespoon-size balls of dough on cookie sheets. Bake until cookies are golden around the edges, but still soft in the center, 8 to 10 minutes. 

love, maddie 


One thought on “Chocolate Chip Cookies

  1. Uhh ohhh! You told my secret to the world . . . I guess it’s pretty obvious w/ the tub of dough in the fridge. As long as I could keep you & your friends from double dipping, I was happy!

Leave a Reply

