Cranberry Orange Wheat Muffins & A Giveaway!

This past Friday, I participated in Relay for Life here at Virginia Tech. It was an amazing experience and I am so grateful for all of the donations that I received for my team. We raised $3,573 by the end of the night – 5 am – for the American Cancer Society. We were on the Drillfield from 5 pm to 5 am to represent fighting sun down to sun up, which is what cancer patients have to go through every day. The last $348 was raised by our bake sale. My friend’s mom made 200 cupcakes and 12 dozen cookies, crazy I know! I did not expect that we would sell half of those baked goods. I made roasted banana cupcakes with a honey cinnamon frosting (soon to be posted) and these delicious muffins. I knew that we were going to be there until the early hours of the morning, so I figured some people might want less sugar and more wholesome goodness! Well, as we were packing up everything Friday night (really Saturday morning) we realized that we only had 24 (out of 200!) cupcakes left and NO cookies left! It was the coolest feeling in the world to know that just a couple of college kids raised so much money for such a great cause.

These muffins are no ordinary cranberry orange muffins. They are given a nutritional boost with the addition of whole wheat flour, wheat germ (had to use it in something else after buying a whole jar for this granola), and Chobani greek yogurt!

I started with the dry ingredients pictured below. Then in another bowl, I mixed milk, orange juice and zest, canola oil, Chobani greek yogurt, an egg, and vanilla extract. After the wet ingredients are completely mixed together, make a well in the dry ingredients and pour the milk mixture in that well. Make sure you don’t over-mix the batter! Pop ’em in the oven for 15 minutes and you have a healthy and delicious breakfast or midday snack!

This week I will be hosting a Chobani Giveaway! You have the chance to win a yummy package of different Chobani greek yogurt flavors sent to your home for free! To enter this giveaway you must complete three very easy steps: 1) Subscribe to my blog…c’mon you know I need more followers, 2) Submit a recipe/idea that you want me to post on little maddie’s that incorporates Chobani yogurt, 3) Comment on this post and include your name and email address. See isn’t that easy?! You have until Friday at midnight to submit a comment. I will randomly select a number (for example…14), and whoever was the 14th person to comment on this post will win. I will email whoever wins by Saturday night! I can’t wait to find out who wins and what recipes y’all want me to make!

Cranberry Orange Wheat Muffins: (little maddie’s original)

Prep Time: 10 minutes          Cook Time: 15 minutes          Servings: 12 muffins
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (if you don’t have whole wheat flour you can just add another 1/2 cup of AP flour)
  • 1/2 cup wheat germ
  • 3/4 cup dried cranberries
  • 1/2 cup dark brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1/4 cup canola oil
  • 1/2 cup Chobani plain greek yogurt
  • 1 egg
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 orange, juice and zest

Preheat oven to 400°. Mix together the dry ingredients (all-purpose flour through cinnamon). In another bowl, mix together wet ingredients (milk through orange). Make a well in the flour mixture and pour the wet ingredients into that well. Stir the batter until just mixed together. Divide batter into a greased muffin pan. Bake for about 15 minutes. Enjoy!

love, maddie

16 thoughts on “Cranberry Orange Wheat Muffins & A Giveaway!

  1. These look really tasty & healthy. Congrats on your fundraising for cancer research. Job well done. Can I send you a recipe to try & win the Chobani yogurt give away?

  2. One of my favorite recipes w/ chobani greek yogurt is quite simple but so very good. I take baking potatoes & scrub really well. I poke w/ a knife to allow steam to escape. Then rub generously w/ good olive oil & sprinkle w/ sea salt. Wrap individually w/ foil & bake on cookie sheet @ 350 for 1 hr. Open & top w/ as much plain greek yogurt as you want. It’s practically calorie free, filled w/ protein & tastes very close to real sour cream. A little cracked pepper & a tad more sea salt . . . Voila! One of the best comfort foods around packed w/ Vitamin C, B6 & Potassium.

  3. Congrats on all of the money ya’ll raised for Relay for Life, that’s so awesome!! I’m so proud of you! Umm also, I would like to win, so here is the recipe I would like to see on Little Maddie’s.

    You see, Maddie, I’ve become obsessed with this frozen yogurt place called llaollao here in Valencia. Frozen yogurt in Spain has a very distinct tart flavor and they only have vanilla, so clearly, I don’t order the frozen yogurt. Instead, I order a bariloche smoothie, which consists of fresh strawberries, ripe bananas and this tart-tasting frozen yogurt- and it’s amazing. Anyways, I’m going to miss my new favorite smoothie when I get back in the states and, with summer just around the corner, I’m sure your followers (including me) would love to have a nice little smoothie recipe to make and sip on while laying by the pool, made with love and Chobani yogurt? (And then you can teach me how to make it? YAY NEW RECIPES!)

    I’m hoping you already know all of my contact info if I get selected… Fingers crossed! 🙂

    LOVE YOU!!!

  4. Hi my name is Morgan Freeman, I am the actor if that will that help me win the chobani 🙂 I love yogurt and all the food you make EXCEPT I will now request gluten -free recipes because I can’t have any of that yummy stuff you’re posting 😦 wah. Congrats on relay for life, saw your FB & twitter about how much you raised..GO GIRL!
    Love you, bye!

  5. Thank you for the giveaway!
    A recipe…how about rye toast with smoked salmon and plain Chobani yogurt mixed with garlic salt, fresh chives and dill?
    I don’t feel comfortable sharing my home address here, but I’d love to email it to you.

  6. Maddie-
    Congrats on relay for life! And I love this blog so much! I wish I could cook… Anyway can’t wait to see you have your own cooking show! See you this summer.
    Love, Paige

Leave a Reply

