Chocolate on Chocolate on Chocolate

I’ve had this recipe bookmarked for quite some time. It’s the “chocolate lover’s cheesecake” from one of my favorite food blogs, Annie’s Eats.  This was my first cheesecake I’ve ever made and needless to say I was happy with the results. The top of the cheesecake didn’t even crack (which is usually inevitable when baking cheesecakes)! I also got to substitute greek yogurt for sour cream. For those of you who don’t know me, I have a little obsession with greek yogurt – Chobani to be exact. And I will use this fantastic product whenever I can. Now don’t start thinking that this cheesecake is healthy. It still has 24 ounces of cream cheese and a fair amount of butter and heavy cream. But sometimes we have to indulge a little right?

I actually have a funny story to tell about this cheesecake, too. My sister and I spent all afternoon making it (we had to do the crust twice because the first one burnt…oops). And when the filling was set we took it out of the oven, let it chill, and then popped it in the fridge. This cheesecake has to set for 8 hours or overnight. Well, I had been taking pictures of the whole process because I needed something to blog about and thought this would be perfect (I also haven’t blogged in about 2 months so figured I should quit being lazy and do a post). Anyway, my sister and I decided to put the cheesecake in the fridge overnight, stay at her townhouse, and come back and finish it in the morning. Little did we know that my mother’s chocolate cravings were going to take over. We came home to find a slice taken out of the unfinished cheesecake. Oh mother…

So forgive me for not having a beautiful picture of the whole, finished cheesecake! But trust me, I’ve learned my lesson and I hope you’ve learned something, too. This cheesecake has magical powers that will make you not be able to resist it.

Here we go, the recipe…

Chocolate Cheesecake: (adapted from Annie’s Eats)

Prep Time: 30 minutes          Cook Time: 1 hour 40 minutes          Servings: 16 slices

Crust:

  • 1 1/2 cups chocolate wafer crumbs
  • 3 tablespoons sugar
  • 4 tablespoons butter, melted

Preheat oven to 400°. Line the bottom of a 9 inch spring-form pan with parchment paper that covers the circular bottom. Combine chocolate wafer crumbs, sugar, and butter until it holds together when pressed between fingers. Place mixture in pan and press down with your hands, making sure to cover up the sides of the pan. Bake for 8-10 minutes. Reduce oven temperature to 300°.

Cheesecake:

  • 1/2 cup plain greek yogurt
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules
  • 8 oz. bittersweet chocolate
  • 3 (8 oz.) packages cream cheese, at room temperature
  • 3 tablespoons unsweetened cocoa powder
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • 1 1/4 cups sugar
  • 3 large eggs, at room temperature

In a small bowl, combine greek yogurt, vanilla, and instant coffee granules. Set aside. Melt the chocolate in a double boiler until smooth. Set aside to cool. With a mixer, combine cream cheese, cocoa powder, and salt until smooth. Beat in the sugar, making sure everything is well combined by scraping down the sides of the bowl. Add the melted chocolate, beat to combine. Beat in the greek yogurt mixture. Beat in the eggs one at a time. *Don’t over beat, just mix until it looks like a homogenous mixture. Pour the filling into the cooled crust. Bake until the center jiggles very slightly, about 60-80 minutes (Annie’s Eats says 50-60 minutes, but mine was not done at that time. Just make sure to check your cheesecake periodically.) Once cheesecake is set, let chill for 1 hour, then transfer to refrigerator for 8 hours or overnight to chill completely.

Chocolate Ganache:

  • 3 oz. bittersweet chocolate
  • 6 tablespoons heavy cream
  • 1 tablespoon butter, at room temperature
  • 1 teaspoon instant coffee granules

Place chocolate in a small heatproof bowl. Place heavy cream in a saucepan and bring to simmer. Pour warmed heavy cream over chocolate. Let sit for 1 minute. Whisk until smooth (the more you whisk the shinier the ganache gets). Add softened butter and instant coffee granules. Pour over cheesecake in an even layer. Put back in the refrigerator to chill.

Enjoy!

love, maddie

3 thoughts on “Chocolate on Chocolate on Chocolate

  1. That cake, or any chocolate would be in danger at my house too. Just ask Meghan. Looks like my kind of dessert. Are there any leftovers to bring?

  2. It was AWESOME! No cracks on top which has never happened to me w/ cheesecake. Was covered w/ ganache eventually so wouldn’t have shown if there were. My favorite photo was close up of single slice. Yum!

Leave a Reply

