Hot Fudge Sauce

I would be lying to you if I said I didn’t eat this hot fudge by the spoonful. It’s hard to describe the taste of this sauce and not undersell it because it is that good. Originally, I had planned on drizzling it through a homemade strawberry frozen yogurt so you would taste little specks of chocolate in every bite; however, the ice cream maker decided it didn’t want to cooperate. I don’t know if it was because this ice cream maker was from back in the day when my parents got married or if my freezer couldn’t handle freezing the ice cream maker bowl, all I know is it took 3 days for that darn bowl to freeze (a little more than the 6-22 hours the instructions said it would take). I am not that patient. Instead, Anna and I drizzled it over bananas (best thing ever) and I spooned it over store bought moose tracks ice cream. Or I just ate it – out of the jar. So everyone, go grab these ingredients and make this hot fudge! It would be great as a gift, too 🙂

Hot Fudge Sauce: (adapted from Smitten Kitchen)

Prep Time: 5 minutes          Cook Time: 10 minutes          Yields: 2 cups

  • 2/3 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup light corn syrup
  • 1/3 cup brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup cocoa powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 6 oz. chocolate, divided in half
  • 2 tablespoons butter
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla

Bring heavy cream, corn syrup, sugar, cocoa powder, salt, and half the chocolate to a boil. Reduce to simmer. Cook for 5 minutes, stirring occasionally. Remove from the stove and stir in the other half of the chocolate, the butter, and vanilla. Stir until smooth. Cool for 20 minutes (it will thicken). Store in an airtight container in the refrigerator. To use, microwave for 2 minutes in 30 second intervals until pourable. Enjoy!

One thought on “Hot Fudge Sauce

Leave a Reply

