Shortbread Cookies

Please ignore the Halloween sprinkles. I know it’s November 11th. Just act like you’re still gearing up for trick or treating and picking out your Halloween costume. I made these for the Spanish class I teach at a local elementary school here in Blacksburg. We meet every Wednesday for an hour, and since October 31st was on a Wednesday this year, we had a Halloween-themed lesson! I brought in these goodies and taught them lots of fun Halloweeny words in Spanish like la bruja for witch and la calabaza for pumpkin. These kids range from Kindergarten to 4th grade, so let’s just say they’re a handful…but SO much fun. I honestly considered switching my major (for the 6th time) and applying to the education program here at Tech because I’ve enjoyed teaching these little ones so much! But then I thought about how much I love food…so I didn’t.

Unfortunately, one of the students in the class is allergic to all dairy products – and this is unfortunate because I have an infatuation with butter, which is a dairy product, which is also a main ingredient in shortbread. Another student has a nut allergy. My baked goods options were restricted. I went to a natural foods store and looked for “dairy free butter” (such a sad time for me) and found Earth Balance vegan butter sticks. Two reasons I love butter: 1) it doesn’t cost $7 like the vegan stuff & 2) it’s butter. But I digress… This recipe could easily be switched between vegan and regular shortbread (only the butter changes). It’s a super easy process plus it uses just 4 ingredients – let me show you!

Shortbread Cookies: (vegan option from Food Allergy Mama)

Prep Time: 15 minutes          Cook Time: 20 minutes          Servings: 14 cookies *

  • 1 cup butter (or dairy free butter)
  • 3/4 cup sugar
  • 2 1/2 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 300°. In a mixing bowl, beat butter and sugar until light and fluffy. Beat in flour and salt and mix until dough forms. I had to bring my dough together with my hands, but I’m not sure if it was because of the vegan butter. If your dough doesn’t come together very easy in the mixing bowl, just pour the mixture onto the countertop and form it with your hands. Roll out the dough onto a floured board until 1/4 inch thick. Using a cookie cutter (or any other kitchen tool), cut out the cookies and place on a baking sheet. Decorate with sprinkles if desired. Bake for 20 minutes. Enjoy!

*Dough can be rolled out less to have a thicker shortbread, but it will make less cookies.

love, maddie

Leave a Reply

