Peanut Butter Cookies with Hershey Kisses

Is it weird that I’m already listening to Christmas music? Or that my roommate and I watched Elf last night? To say that I love the holiday season is an understatement. Thanksgiving is my favorite holiday and Christmas is a close second. You might ask why. Besides the music, Christmas movies, and general cheer that comes around during the holiday season, what really conquers my heart is the food. If you didn’t already know, I am kind of a food addict. I always feel the need to check my Food Gawker app on my iPhone for new recipes, look at the 50 food blogs I follow, watch Food Network, and read my cooking magazines. So when Thanksgiving and Christmas roll around…well…I’m in quite a euphoric state. I pretty much say “Catch ya next semester” to schoolwork and “Hello my love!” to researching for new recipes to try this holiday season. Enough with my embarrassing addiction to all things food…let’s get to these cookies.

One thing that I will always have to have around the holidays are peanut butter cookies with Hershey kisses. My grandmother (Mom’s mom) used to make these every Christmas and whenever I think of these cookies I think of her. She passed away when I was in high school after a long battle with cancer, but I will be sure to carry on her tradition of making these cookies every Christmas. Not only are they delicious, but they are probably the easiest thing in the world to make. Grandma knows best.

Four ingredients are all you need to make these cookies. Yes four. Peanut butter, sugar, egg, and Hershey kisses. Even the measurements are as easy as pie to remember! Personally, I think these cookies are best straight out of the oven when the cookies are still warm and the chocolate is slightly melted. Omg they’re so good. I always found it odd that this peanut butter cookie recipe doesn’t have any butter or flour in it, but the texture and taste of the cookie is perfect! If you like a chewy cookie I would start to check on them while they’re baking after 5 minutes. However, if you’re like my Momma and prefer crunchier cookies I would leave them in for the whole 7 minutes.    

Peanut Butter Cookies with Hershey Kisses: (little maddie’s original)

Prep Time: 10 minutes          Cook Time: 6-7 minutes          Servings: 20-25 cookies

  • 1 cup creamy peanut butter
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 20-25 Hershey kisses, unwrapped

Preheat oven to 375°. Place peanut butter, sugar, and egg in a mixing bowl. Beat until well incorporated. Grab about a spoonful of cookie batter and form into a little ball with your hands. Place on a baking sheet lined with foil or parchment paper. Gently press down on the cookie to flatten out the top. Bake for about 6-7 minutes. Once they are baked, immediately place a chocolate kiss in the center of each cookie and gently press down. Enjoy!

love, maddie

2 thoughts on “Peanut Butter Cookies with Hershey Kisses

Leave a Reply

