Applesauce Cinnamon Oat Muffins

IMG_5933

Bad news. School starts tomorrow. Even worse news. I have an 8 am on Mondays and Wednesdays and a 9:30 am on Tuesdays and Thursdays. If you know me well you probably know that I’m not very good at sleeping in late. To me, 9:30 is sleeping in. However, what I am not used to is waking up at 6:45 and walking across the drillfield in the crisp, cold, 15° air plus wind chill in Blacksburg. Ouch. I remember staying the night at my cousin, Hayley’s, house and laying in bed at 8:30 in the morning waiting for Hayles to wake up. After about 9 I knew she probably wouldn’t be waking up until 10 or 11, so I usually got out of bed and went to play video games with her little brother, Jack. I’m sure I’ll be missing my sleep this semester, but hopefully I’ll make it. Unfortunately, I will be hitting the snooze button a lot, so I probably won’t have time to eat my usual ginormous bowl of cereal and I would get sick of grabbing the same old cereal bar every morning.  Don’t worry about me though because I thought of a healthy and easy solution! Applesauce cinnamon oat muffins. I can make them on Sunday and have them for the rest of the week. They use whole wheat flour, oats, applesauce, and only a little bit of canola oil and brown sugar, so you don’t have to feel guilty about eating them. I pop mine in the microwave for 10 seconds before I eat one so they taste like they’re fresh out of the oven.

I made these for the first time when I was still at home over Christmas break and literally had one for breakfast every morning for the next 7 days. On the 7th day, it had become a routine. I opened up the container, grabbed a muffin and a napkin, microwaved it for 10 seconds and then devoured it. However, I didn’t realize until after I had inhaled the first half of the muffin that there was a little green dot on the muffin liner. I hadn’t put anything green in the muffins, and just when I was wondering what it was, I looked on the bottom of the muffin and saw a nice patch of mold. My mind was starting to make me think that I was about to be sick, but my mom reassured me that I would be okay. Lesson of the day: these muffins are good for about 5-6 days and if you want to be a daredevil on the 7th day, make sure you check the bottom of your muffin.
IMG_5918 IMG_5923 IMG_5925 IMG_5929

IMG_5943

Applesauce Cinnamon Oat Muffins: (adapted from Taste of Home)

Servings: 16 regular muffins or 32 mini muffins          Prep Time: 15 min.          Cook Time: 18 min.

Muffins:
  • 1 1/2 cups quick-cooking oats
  • 1 1/4 cups whole wheat flour
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 3/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 3/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 1/2 cup milk (I used skim)
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil
  • 1 egg white
Topping:
  • 1/4 cup quick-cooking oats
  • 1 tablespoon brown sugar
  • 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1 tablespoon butter, melted

Preheat oven to 400°. Mix dry ingredients (oats through salt) in a bowl. Create a well in the middle of the bowl. Pour wet ingredients (applesauce through egg white) into the well. Stir wet ingredients trying to keep them in that well. Mix wet ingredients into dry until just combined, do not over-mix! Fill greased muffin pan or muffin tins with batter 3/4 of the way full. In another bowl mix the topping ingredients together and sprinkle over each muffin. Bake for about 18 minutes for regular muffins and about 12 minutes for mini muffins. Check with a tooth pick to see if it is cooked through. Enjoy!

IMG_5938

love, maddie

2 thoughts on “Applesauce Cinnamon Oat Muffins

Leave a Reply

