Fruit Salad with Honey Poppy Seed Dressing

IMG_6644Today was my first day with my internship at the Seabrook Island Club. Let’s just say that this place is unlike anything I’ve ever seen. Everyone that I have met so far is so very friendly, welcoming, and just plain happy. Even the 30 minute drive from my apartment in Charleston is beautiful – the road is lined with trees on both sides that have branches reaching over to the other side of the road. Basically a tree tunnel. So cool. Seabrook Island itself is the perfect combination of a luxurious oceanfront community with a down home feel. The club just completed a $31 million project in 2010 that has completely upgraded the island into one of the nicest communities on the East Coast. They built the Beach Club (equipped with pools, outdoor ocean side restaurant, and poolside terrace looking over 2.5 miles of the beach), the Island House (verandas with views of the ocean and two golf courses, restaurants, events center, and pro shop), and the Lake House (overlooks Palmetto Lake and the 22-acre equestrian center, houses a 6,000 square foot fitness center, pools, and more). I know it seems like I’m selling this place to you, but I promise I’m not. The tour of the island literally just blew me away today and I want to share! But I guess it wouldn’t be a bad thing to sell it to you since I am an employee here now… 🙂 One awesome perk of this internship is I get access to all of these amenities – the 15 HAR-TRU clay tennis courts, two world-class championship “Fully Certified Audubon Sanctuaries” golf courses, and the equestrian and fitness center. Needless to say I won’t be bored this summer. So many activities.

seabrookarialI’ll be updating this a lot more than I usually do – sharing my adventures here in Charleston and on Seabrook Island with you guys. Apparently in 2 weeks I’ll be opening and closing the restaurants at the club by myself, which is kind of freaky to think about. Check back to see how my internship is going and to see what I’m cooking for dinner down here in the South.

I decided to put up this recipe because I won’t be home all summer and what I’m going to miss the most (besides my dogs…and family) is big, delicious, mostly fattening breakfasts on Sunday mornings at my house. I made this fruit salad over spring break at our beach house in Corolla (alongside sausage gravy and biscuits, hash browns, and eggs…yum). I tweaked the recipe from something I learned in my cooking class I took this past semester and wanted to share it with y’all! You can use whatever fruit you have on hand or whatever fruit is your favorite – these are my top picks.

Fruit Salad with Honey Poppy Seed Dressing

Prep Time: 20 minutes          Cook Time: —          Servings: 6 – 8 servings

For the Fruit Salad:

  • 1/2 pint strawberries, hulled and sliced
  • 1/2 pint blueberries
  • 1/2 pint blackberries
  • 2 bananas, peeled and sliced
  • 1 pineapple, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 2 cups grapes
  • 1/2 cantaloupe, peeled and diced
  • 2 kiwis, peeled and sliced in half-moons
  • 1 orange, peeled and diced
  • 1 apple, peeled, cored, and diced
  • 1 mango, peeled, cored, and diced

For the Dressing:

  • 1/2 cup lemon juice
  • 1/2 cup orange juice
  • 1/2 cup honey
  • 1 tablespoon poppy seeds

Place all of the prepared fruit in a large bowl. Combine all of the dressing ingredients in a small bowl. Pour over the prepared fruit. Enjoy!

IMG_6655

love, maddie

One thought on “Fruit Salad with Honey Poppy Seed Dressing

Leave a Reply

