Morgan’s Chicken Piccata

Image

Morgan – my beautiful, talented, gutsy, independent & selfless sister – shares the same crazy obsession with all things food that I do. So when my sissy and I get together, cookbooks, Food Network & Cooking Light magazines, and researching food blogs for new recipes are always involved. Bobo (nickname for Morgan – very long story) and I haven’t always coexisted as well as we do now. Two strong personalities put in the same room is one crazy room. Never a dull moment. Even back in the day (the 90s), I used to frame Morgan for different things that I had done. For example, my dad and I were looking at a house in Croatan, while my mom and sister were no where near the house – probably shopping somewhere. I decided to be mischievous and go in a room by myself, pick up a fancy vase, and then drop the fancy vase on the ground. What follows might surprise you…after the obviously loud crash of the glass breaking, my dumbfounded father runs in trying to make sense of what happened…my 5 year old self picks up a shard of glass, looks at my dad, and says “LOOK WHAT MORGAN DID!” This was only the beginning of Morgan’s and my loving relationship. Fast forward to Morgan in high school and her annoying little sister Maddie and you’ve got a match made in Heaven. Nonetheless, there are multiple pictures of my sissy and I from our childhood smiling and laughing, and for good reason – we have a ball when we’re together. I think God made sisters so that they will each always have a friend, no matter how weird each sister is. Morgan and I are pretty weird.

Image

Look at that teamwork! A family that pulls pork together stays together ♥

She emailed me this recipe right after she visited me here in Charleston and told me to “tweak” it before I put up a post about it. I really love her measurements and wording of the recipe though, so I’m copying and pasting it directly from the email! Sorry Bobo! Hope y’all enjoy this recipe – she literally makes it once a week so I’m sure it won’t disappoint 🙂

Morgan’s Chicken Piccata:

Prep Time: 20 minutes          Cook Time: 30 minutes          Servings: 4

As per Morgan:

“Sooooo I’m no pro…but you are so you can make it better 🙂 and I don’t know how to spell anything!!!!! And I’ve had  2 glasses of wine…

3 chicken breasts cut in half and pounded out to 1/2-1/4 inch thick (just all the same), seasoned with salt and fresh cracked pepper on each side.
Chicken Dredge:
  • Plate of flour
  • 1/2 tsp each onion powder, garlic powder, paprika
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper

Sauce:

  • 1 tbps evoo and 1 tbps butter
  • Salt & pepper
  • 1 large shallot, small dice
  • 1 tbsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup capers
  • 3/4 cup good, drinkable white wine
  • 1 cup chicken broth
  • 1/3 cup fresh lemon juice (can do less…I like lots of lemon!) plus 1-2 lemons thinly sliced
  • More butter
  • Basil and parmiggano reggiano for garnish (optional)
Pasta:
  • Pasta
  • Water
Preheat oven to 350°.
Take room temperature, pounded out chicken breasts and dredge in flour mixture on both sides and shake off excess.
Heat large skillet with tall sides to medium-high heat and brown each side of breasts until golden color appears.  It’s not being cooked all the way through…just being browned on each side before cooking in the oven. Set on plate with paper towel to soak up extra oil and leave alone while making sauce.
Put pan on medium heat and add another tablespoon of evoo and butter to browned bits on bottom of pan where chicken was cooked. Add shallots and stir constantly for about 1 minute until translucent then add garlic for 30 seconds stirring constantly and add capers and lightly smash them to get more flavor out. Add wine and reduce by half, then add chicken broth and let simmer for 3-5 minutes. Add lemon and cook for 1 minute. Add butter, stir until melted and turn off heat.
Take 9×13 baking dish and place chicken breasts slightly overlapping until all are in dish. Pour sauce all over chicken. Place thinly sliced lemons on top of each breast [the more the merrier :)]. Place dish in oven for 15-20 minutes or until chicken is cooked thoroughly.
While chicken is baking, bring large pot of water to boil. Season well with salt and add pasta and cook al dente according to package directions.
Once the chicken is done remove from oven, immediately serve with a bed of pasta, then chicken breast plus sauce and add basil and parmigiano reggiano! It makes it even better! Feel free to add more lemons.  The oven baked lemons and very juicy and delicious 🙂  I like to add fresh cracked black pepper at the end, as well.  Serve with a glass of the white wine you used to cook!
Enjoy!”
IMG_7151

Love you Bobo!

love, maddie

3 thoughts on “Morgan’s Chicken Piccata

  1. Looks great Morgan, it doesn’t surprise me that you got that cooking gene too. I’m looking forward to years to come when this next generation is in charge of our meals at Beach Week, well at least you two Houck girls and Blake and Whitney. My kids did not get the “cooking gene”.

Leave a Reply

