Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Soup

IMG_7855Wait a second – am I really a senior in college? Are you sure I’m not an awkward freshman running around the drillfield trying to figure out in which direction my class is? You Virginia Tech grads know that pretty much all of the buildings on campus look exactly the same since they are all made with Hokie stone. Well, sadly I am a senior. That means in May I’ll have to start doing real person things. You might be asking yourself what “real person things” are. These things include but are not limited to: finding a job, going to work, doing responsible activities with your paycheck (i.e. paying taxes, investing, buying insurance, paying rent on a real place that’s not your parents, and hopefully saving most of it), and bills, bills, bills. Anyway, hopefully the transition from college to the real world isn’t too bad. I guess there’s nothing wrong with crashing with my parents for a couple of months after graduation right? More time for family bonding!

One of my favorite cuisines to cook at home is mexican. I love anything with lots of citrus, jalapeños, avocados, or cilantro. My second family (which actually really is family) have the same infatuation with mexican food that I do. In fact, every summer when my whole dad’s side of the family goes to our beach house in Corolla, NC, this family always makes a mexican themed dinner when it’s their night to cook. I never complain. My uncle is famous for his pico de gallo – he could seriously jar it and sell it. And my aunt makes a delicious pulled chicken that she cooks in a crock pot – full of flavor and really easy. My cousin, Hayley (who is also the model for my blog haha), isn’t the biggest fan of cooking, but she looks really pretty standing in the kitchen doing whatever her momma tells her to do. I think this family and yours will be big fans of this cilantro lime chicken soup made in a slow cooker!

IMG_7847IMG_7851Look at all of those goodies! This recipe is super easy. You only have a couple of things to chop, the rest is just throwing things in your slow cooker. I topped my ginormous bowl of soup with a cilantro lime crema that I made with Chobani greek yogurt. They recently sent me a shipment of yogurt, so I’ve been using a lot of Chobani lately – mexican layer dip, chicken salad, and yummy smoothies. This week I’m making some frozen yogurt! Check back here soon to see how it turns out.

Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Soup: (adapted from little kitchen, big bites)

Prep Time: 15 minutes          Cook Time: 8 hours          Serves: 4-6

  • 3-4 boneless, skinless chicken breasts
  • 1 cup cilantro, chopped (plus more for garnish)
  • 1/2 onion, chopped
  • 2 (14 oz.) cans corn
  • 2 (14 oz.) cans black beans
  • 1 red bell pepper, chopped
  • 1 green bell pepper, chopped
  • 1/2 jalapeño, chopped (plus more for garnish)
  • 2 garlic cloves, chopped
  • 3 tablespoons lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon cumin
  • dash of crushed red pepper flakes
  • 1 teaspoon of chili powder
  • 1 cup salsa
  • 1 (32 oz.) box of chicken stock
  • S & P to taste
  • lime wedges, avocado, cilantro, and scallions for garnish

Combine all ingredients in the slow cooker. Cook for 8 hours on low. Take chicken out and shred with two forks. Place chicken back into slow cooker. Serve with garnishes and cilantro lime crema.

Cilantro Lime Crema

  • 1 cup plain greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 1 teaspoon lime zest
  • 1 tablespoon lime juice
  • 1 tablespoon cilantro, chopped

Place all ingredients in a small mixing bowl and stir to combine. Refrigerate until ready to use.

Enjoy!

IMG_7848

love, maddie

7 thoughts on “Slow Cooker Cilantro Lime Chicken Soup

  1. 1. the first paragraph was essentially my life- real person things are the WORST and there is definitely no shame in living at home for the first few months 🙂
    2. WAHHOOOO shout out!!! i feel famous. maybe chobani will send me free stuff too??!!
    3. my dad said he will make you pico de gallo and mexican guac next time you come over- we love the celeb status

    LOVE YOU!!!!

  2. Hey you could stay with us too, and just rotate around all of your family. I love that your cooking looks wonderful and artsy even when you are putting it in the pot. This recipe looks great and I will try it this fall. Make it a great year Maddie. I love you and am proud of who you are.

  3. I am sooo happy to BE the second family Madday! You have always brought sunshine to our home every time you stepped in the door and you know how much these cousins (even Trey:-) love, love, love you! You would be a welcome adult-kid here as Hayley just moved out last week and we are now 2 kids short. Life is much more quiet with less to do, less to track, and less cheese dip to have prepared.
    Enjoy this last year at school and know that you will make a great Real Person! Reid says thanks for thinking our favs are worthy of your blog 🙂

Leave a Reply

