Blueberry CHO Muffins

IMG_8058

I splurge at the grocery store on occasion. A box of $4 raspberries. Cheese from the fancy section of Kroger. Steak instead of chicken for dinner. Whatever the ingredient may be, sometimes I just can’t resist. Well one day I bought a box of fresh blueberries because I was really craving them. Then I put them in my refrigerator when I got home. Next thing I know I was digging my poor box of blueberries out from the back of my fridge two weeks later. They were wrinkly, squishy, and definitely not edible anymore. I was traumatized. $3 just thrown in the trash. And they looked so good at the store! Lesson learned. From now on, when I cave and get the good stuff, I keep everything in the front of the fridge and if it even looks like it could go bad in 2 days I throw it in the freezer. That’s where these blueberry muffins come in. One Sunday afternoon I felt like baking…saw the frozen blueberries and the rest is history.

The CHO comes from the plain 0% Chobani yogurt that I put into the muffin batter. It adds lots of protein and makes the muffins super moist! Sour cream could be substituted, but that would just be silly because sour cream is loaded with fat. Protein > Fat. I also subbed 1/2 cup of the all-purpose flour for whole wheat flour. Not much, but it makes me feel better when I down 3 of these puppies. This muffin batter is actually more like a cookie dough, so don’t be scared if you find it to be a little thick. They come out perfect!

IMG_8034IMG_8035IMG_8038IMG_8041IMG_8042IMG_8043IMG_8044IMG_8049

Blueberry CHO Muffins: (adapted from smitten kitchen)

Prep Time: 10 minutes          Cook Time: 20-25 minutes          Servings: 10-11 standard muffins

  • 5 tablespoons butter, softened
  • 1/2 cup sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 3/4 cup plain Greek yogurt (I used Chobani)
  • 1/2 teaspoon lemon zest
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat flour (you could just use all AP flour)
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup blueberries (fresh or frozen)

Preheat oven to 375°. Cream the butter and sugar with an electric mixer in a large mixing bowl (or you can use a standing mixer). Add the egg, yogurt, and zest. Beat to combine. Sift the dry ingredients into the mixing bowl. Beat to combine (do not over mix or the muffins will be tough). Fold in the blueberries. Spoon into well-greased muffin pan. Bake for 20-25 minutes. Enjoy!

IMG_8057

love, maddie

4 thoughts on “Blueberry CHO Muffins

Leave a Reply

