Roasted Sweet Potato Soup

IMG_8453Brrr. It’s literally freezing in Blacksburg. Blistering wind + a high of 14° = Depression.

But do you know what you can do to make that snow storm outside your door seem like a sunny day in Virginia Beach? Make soup! Especially warmly spiced roasted veggie soup or puréed soup that feels like silk as soon as it hits your taste buds. Lucky for me my Aunt Val just got me an immersion blender for my birthday! It’s a super nifty piece of kitchen equipment that I’ve always wanted. I actually told my family I couldn’t fit any more kitchen gadgets in my teeny tiny apartment (with my slow cooker, Dutch oven, ice cream maker, food processor, etc.), but nevertheless I received the immersion blender, a pressure cooker from Morgan, and a cooling rack + cookie sheet set from Nanny. They know me too well. You can still make this soup with a regular blender though or even keep the vegetables in chunks, but the immersion blender is so quick, fun to use, and really easy to clean. I should probably be a telemarketer for KitchenAid.

IMG_8440IMG_8441IMG_8447IMG_8442IMG_8443IMG_8444IMG_8446IMG_8448IMG_8449IMG_8450Roasted Sweet Potato Soup: (little maddie’s original)

Prep Time: 10 minutes          Cook Time: 30 minutes          Serves: 4

  • 2 sweet potatoes, peeled and cubed
  • 3 carrots, peeled and cubed
  • 2 tablespoons olive oil, divided
  • 1 onion, peeled and diced
  • 2 garlic cloves, minced
  • 1 tablespoon fresh ginger, grated
  • 1/2 teaspoon coriander
  • 1/4 teaspoon red chili flakes
  • 1/4 teaspoon cumin
  • 1 box chicken stock (32 oz.)
  • 1/2 tablespoon maple syrup
  • S & P to taste
  • plain nonfat greek yogurt (like Chobani) + cilantro, for garnish

Preheat oven to 425°. Toss sweet potatoes and carrots with 1 tablespoon of olive oil and season with salt and pepper. Roast on a baking sheet for 20 minutes, or until tender. Heat remaining 1 tablespoon olive oil in a pot. Sauté onions in pot until translucent. Add garlic and ginger, season with salt and pepper. Add spices and cook until fragrant. After sweet potatoes and carrots are done roasting, place them in the pot with the onion mixture. Pour in the chicken stock and maple syrup. Simmer for 5-10 minutes. Purée soup with immersion blender until smooth or ladle soup in batches into a regular blender. Spoon finished soup into bowls and top with greek yogurt and cilantro. Enjoy!

IMG_8451

love, maddie 

4 thoughts on “Roasted Sweet Potato Soup

  1. I got your blog from your Mom.. I love all the pictures. I am very visual and looking at the pictures just gives the recipe a deeper flavor. Its almost like I can taste it. Wonderful

Leave a Reply

