Skinny Banana Nut Muffins

IMG_8514IMG_8516

I might have met my future employer today.  Career fairs are so…exciting.  You have all of these college students – mostly graduating seniors – earnestly waiting in lines to talk to more than three dozen different companies.  I’ve been told to have a thirty second “commercial.”  Professors say that’s how you sell yourself to recruiters.  Personally, having a slight obsession with everything from the Magic Bullet to OxiClean since I was a little girl, I thought I would have no problem creating an infomercial for myself.  After talking out loud to the mirror for about an hour and going over my script, I thought my commercial was ready.  I mean…I would hire me.  At the end of the day and after all of the firm handshakes, I have three interviews tomorrow and hopefully a few callbacks in the next week.  Can I not be a professional college student for the rest of my life?

For all you recent grads – hopefully you’re enjoying life and staying busy.  And hopefully you’re employed.  Here is a recipe to have on hand when you need a quick breakfast on-the-go.  These muffins freeze really well, too!  And did I mention they are actually healthy?  The pictures probably don’t give off the “low-fat/low-sugar” vibe.  Also, I promise I’m not a muffin fiend.  I just really really really like muffins.  They’re basically cake, but they’re acceptable to eat in the morning.  I should probably not post another muffin recipe for a while…

IMG_8491IMG_8492IMG_8494IMG_8495IMG_8496IMG_8498IMG_8499IMG_8501IMG_8503IMG_8506IMG_8512IMG_8519

Skinny Banana Nut Muffins: (little maddie’s original)

Prep Time: 8 minutes          Cook Time: 10-12 minutes          Servings: 24 muffins *

  • 1 3/4 cup flour **
  • 2 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon cinnamon
  • 1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 3 very ripe bananas, mashed
  • 6 tablespoons Truvia Baking Blend ***
  • 1/4 cup brown sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil (or any other fat – melted butter, vegetable oil, etc.)
  • 1/2 cup almond milk (or any other milk)
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla
  • 1/4 cup plain nonfat greek yogurt (like Chobani)
  • 1/2 cup walnuts, toasted and chopped

Preheat oven to 400°.  Spray 2 muffin pans with nonstick spray.  Mix dry ingredients (flour through salt) in a small bowl.  Mix mashed bananas and sweeteners in a large bowl.  Heat coconut oil and almond milk in a small saucepan until liquified.  Pour almond milk mixture into banana mixture and stir to combine.  Add vanilla and yogurt to banana mixture and stir to combine.  Add dry ingredients to wet ingredients and fold until just mixed together.  Fold in walnuts.  Using a cookie scoop or a 1/4 cup measure, scoop batter into greased muffin pans.  Bake for 10-12 muffins or until a toothpick inserted into the muffin comes out clean.  Enjoy for about 5 days and if you have any left just wrap them up and freeze!

*This batter made 24 regular muffins, but as you can see from the picture they are a bit short.  If you want taller muffins, just add more batter to each muffin tin and you’ll end up with 12 fuller muffins.  I like the short little portion-controlled guys.

**The recipe calls for 1 3/4 cups flour.  I used 1/2 cup oat flour, 1/2 cup whole wheat flour, and 3/4 cup all-purpose flour.  If you’re gluten-free, use all gluten-free flour!  If you could care less about nutrition, use all-purpose flour for the full 1 3/4 cups!  Just do whatever you like.

***I experimented with Truvia Baking Blend for the first time with this recipe and really liked it!  If you like another sweetener, use that!  The 6 tablespoon measurement for the Truvia is based on 3/4 cup white granulated sugar.

IMG_8521

love, maddie

4 thoughts on “Skinny Banana Nut Muffins

Leave a Reply

